"Rebuilding Schenectady-
One home at a time."

120 Emmon Street
Main Office-RM 121
Schenectady, NY

Tel: 518-372-6469
Fax: 518-688-0199



LEED for Homes is an initiative designed to actively promote the transformation of the mainstream home building industry towards more sustainable practices. LEED for Homes is targeting the top 25% of new homes with best practice environmental features. LEED for Homes is a collaborative initiative that actively works with all sectors of the home building industry.
By recognizing sustainable design, construction and operations practices in homes nationwide, LEED for Homes helps home builders to differentiate their homes as some of the best  homes in their markets, using a recognized national brand. Furthermore, home buyers will be able to readily identify high quality green homes, simply by selecting LEED Homes.
While there are already a number of local or regional green home building programs, LEED for Homes is attempting to provide national consistency in defining the features of as green home and to enable builders anywhere in the county to obtain a green rating on their homes. LEED for Homes represents a consensus standard for green home building developed and defined by a diverse cadre of national experts and experienced green builders. The LEED for Homes rating system is part of the comprehensive suite of LEED assessment tools offered by USGBC to promote sustainable design, construction and operations practices in buildings nationwide.
The LEED for Homes rating system uses eight different resource categories to measure the overall performance if a home:
  1. Innovation and Design Process (ID) - the category that includes several types of innovative measures including: special design methods, unique regionally credits, measures not currently addressed in the rating system and/or exemplary performance levels.
  2. Location and Linkages (LL) - the placement in socially and environmentally responsible ways in relation to the larger community.
  3. Sustainable Sites (SS) - the use of the entire property so as to minimize the project's impact on the site.
  4. Water Efficiency (WE) - the water conservation practices (both indoor and outdoor) built into the home.
  5. Energy and Atmosphere (EA) - the improvement of energy efficiency particularly in the building envelope and heating and cooling design.
  6. Materials and Resources (MR) - the efficient utilization of materials, selection of environmentally preferable materials, and minimization of waste during construction.
  7. Indoor Environmental Quality (IEQ) - the improvement of indoor air quality by reducing possible air pollution.
  8. Awareness and Education (AE) - the education of homeowner, tenant and building manager (as appropriate in larger multifamily buildings) about the operations and maintenance of the green features of their LEED home.

The LEED for Homes rating system works by awarding credits for different aspects of environmental design in each of the above categories. The level of performance achieved in the above categories is separated into four performance tiers. LEED for Homes will rate qualified homes at the Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinum levels according to how many points the home achieves is the rating system.




(C) 2014 - Better Neighborhoods Inc.